BOOK REVIEW // A Court of Mist and Fury, Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury - click the image to go to Amazon

A Court of Mist and Fury – click the image to go to Amazon

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court, but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future, and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
In my eyes, there hasn’t been a more anticipated book release in the entire year. The sequel to Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses, her latest book series, has been the holy grail of new publications for me in 2016, and might not be topped.
It’s no secret that I’m a huge Sarah J. Maas fan. I think all of my friends have had to sit through my inarticulate babbling about how much I love the Throne of Glass series, or listen to me whinge about finding ACOTAR two days after it was released, reading it in a day before realising that it was a year until the next book. But A Court of Mist and Fury has certainly lived up to the expectations we all place on our favourite books.
 
A Court of Mist and Fury is set around three months after the final chapter of the first book. Developing on from the harrowing (yet phenomenal) climax, we see how Feyre copes with the events of ACOTAR, and all of our beloved characters return. Plus new favourites.
 
As I’ve said, I had ridiculously high expectations for this sequel. I adored most of the characters in the first novel, and had a ton of hopes for their developments, but Maas exceeded these dreams and added in some truly unexpected plot twists. Flawlessly written, I was sucked back into Feyre’s world once more, and I’d be happy to stay there.
 
We learn more about the history of Prythian in this novel, and as well as having a shocking finale (I mean, seriously?!), Maas was able to set up the third and final book in style. I don’t know if I can wait until next year to finish the series… I might have to sell my soul.
 
Sarah J. Maas has clearly developed since her first book was published in 2012. Throne of Glass, while thoroughly riveting, showed signs of immature writing and a gratuitous fulfilment of YA tropes. Don’t get me wrong, I am YA trash and will read the fantasy genre no matter how badly written, but through the sequels and the new series, Maas has come into her own and excelled to the forefront of her field. Both of her series have transcended the Young Adult category and become thrilling books no matter your age or gender, most of all ACOTAR.
 
One thing which I find particularly important in the ACOTAR world is the way that the females are written. Call me a flag-waving feminist, but I love being able to read a sex scene from a female perspective without it being a religious experience or a way to further the plot. In ACOMAF more than the first novel, Feyre is shown to engage in sexual activities for her own enjoyment, with someone she views as an equal rather than a pseudo-authoritative figure, because she wants to.  Sex is used in some cases, as it has been throughout history, as relief, power, blackmail… but never to put the female protagonist in a vulnerable position. Maas has recognised the bodily autonomy of her main character and proclaimed it to the world. All of the female characters are flawlessly written, whether they’re evil or good. It’s interesting to see the way that the different women, with their varied histories and life experiences, interact with Feyre. No character is two dimensional or a plot-device – the only character I would accuse of being a plot device being a minor character who appears for five minutes but may become more important in Book Three.
 
Truly, this is one of the most enjoyable reads I’ve had the pleasure of getting my hands on. I’d saved a gift card from Christmas with the specific intention of buying ACOMAF and it most certainly was worth it. I can’t wait until September, when Empire of Storms is released (TOG Book 5).
 
verdict 5 of 5

Drop us a line, provoke a conversation or disprove my entire post. Just talk!

