DIY // Classy Dorm Room Pinboard

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a student in search of a good grade must be in want of a pinboard.

Last year, when I was in my university halls, I was lucky enough to have a huge noticeboard above my bed, and I put everything up there – a map of the city, postcards from my travels, even hair ties! It was perfect, and now I’m not living there I think it was one of the best things about the room.

If you don’t want to pay much money for a fancy looking pinboard, it’s simple enough to make one. I knew I needed one for bits and bobs this year, so I set about seeing how cheap it could be to make a classy looking noticeboard.

DIY CLASSY PINBOARD

How to Make a Classy Dorm Room Pinboard

Total Price:
£5.25 (Cheaper if you remember your student discount card – I didn’t!)

Time:
5 minutes (Easy Project)

You Need:
– One cheap noticeboard – cardboard and wood like mine was £3 from Wilkinsons
– Wrapping paper – I only had to use one sheet, which was £2.25 from Paperchase. I went with higher quality paper because the board is relatively small, but you could have thinner paper on a bigger board.
– Sellotape
– Scissors

  1. Take your noticeboard and measure it against the paper you’ve bought. There should be at least two inches of paper surplus on each side, to fold over.
    DIY Stage 1
  2. If you have more than two inches surplus, attempt to cut the excess in a relatively straight line, to make it easier to fold, and generally neater (however if, like me, you can’t cut in any approximation of a straight line, just go with the flow).
  3. Starting with the shorter sides, fold them over and score the edges by running a ruler, or the edge of your nail, down the side of the noticeboard in order to create a crisp fold. Tape.
    DIY Stage 2
  4. This is the part I found to be the most tricky – as if you were wrapping a present, push the middle of the fold in to touch the corner of the noticeboard. Press the triangles you’ve made on each side to make them sharp, and repeat on all four corners.

    DIY Stage 4.1
  5. Taking the top ‘triangle’, fold it upwards until it is flush against the noticeboard. Tape. Repeat on the top triangles of the four corners.
    DIY Stage 4
  6. Lastly, fold the long sides up to face the ceiling, and score. Then fold the edges over and tape, scoring them again.
    20150915_172637

And there you have it! A lovely, classy pinboard! As you can tell, I’m not the best at DIY so mine definitely doesn’t look like I’ve bought it like that, but it definitely does the job.

DIY Finished Board

P.S If you want to add a bit more flesh to the pinboard, you could staple foam or pillow stuffing to the board before you add the fabric, creating a headboard-esque board for your room!

Have you ever created a pinboard? What are your favourite university DIY projects?

Drop us a line, provoke a conversation or disprove my entire post. Just talk!

