A BODY POSITIVITY CHALLENGE: DAY 10

A poem, song, book, movie or TV show which helps you feel body positive

image

If there’s one book that makes me feel body positive, or just positive in general, it’s Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I wrote a review for it back in June.

It’s a book about a socially reserved fanfiction author who doesn’t pay attention to fashion trends, embarking on a completely new journey at university. As I said in the review, I definitely identify with the main character, Cath. She embodies everything I see as my main flaws and yet she’s a fantastic representation of personal growth. And no, there aren’t many messages about body image which are central to Cath’s story line, however like many messages in the story like sexuality, the other, well-rounded characters provide the idea that beauty isn’t synonymous with the standardised media interpretation of the word. Reagan is a role model in this sense; she has a style and an ‘unconventional’ body type and she rocks it.

If I’m ever feeling down, or need a pick me up, it’s a toss up between reading Fangirl or watching Will and Grace if I don’t feel like struggling to find that elusive ‘comfortable-reading’ position.

What makes you feel body positive? Is it a mixture of songs and books? A collection of films or random episodes of several TV shows? Drop a line below.

Drop us a line, provoke a conversation or disprove my entire post. Just talk!

