A BODY POSITIVITY CHALLENGE: DAY 1

I was on a blog I love, Back on Pointe, when I came across the #BodPosFeb Challenge. And I decided that, despite being two days into February, I was going to do it.
tumblr_ni6tjryYq11s46f9zo1_500

What I’m doing today is writing both the post for Feb 1 and Feb 2.

Why I Want to do the BodPosFeb Challenge

Negative body image is everywhere for everybody, but especially for young women. From adverts for perfume to the latest trends, even the covers of books and especially in TV and film – no woman looks normal or flawed unless it’s a subversion of cultural norms in an attempt to look edgy.

I’ll be the first to admit that I struggle with my own self image. I frequently don’t like the way I look or complain about it because I, like every other girl and boy my age, am bombarded with images of ‘perfection’ which are, in reality, completely unattainable.

Logically I know that my body isn’t horrendous, that I shouldn’t feel the overwhelming desire to sit in my room in a baggy sweatshirt and ripped jeans, or go out in loose t-shirts and leggings to show how much I don’t care about my image. I do care about my image, which is precisely the point.

So I’ve decided to do the #BodPosFeb Challenge because I want to show myself that, despite what they say in the magazines, on the TV and in Hollywood, my kind of beautiful isn’t imaginary. I don’t have to starve myself so I have a washboard stomach and yet have mouthwatering curves. If that comes naturally, great, but until then, I’m going to be more positive about myself.

Do you struggle with body positivity? Do you have any tips for completing this Challenge? Share your comments below.

Drop us a line, provoke a conversation or disprove my entire post. Just talk!

