Welcome to Exeter!

So this is my first blog post written in my new room.

Woah.

I cannot explain how surreal it is to be writing to you, posting to this blog, from a room so far from ‘home’. There are new walls to stare at when I’m trying to think of phrasing a sentence, light switches to flick if I’m frustrated with the format of a picture. I’m even writing on a new (and completely awesome) laptop which has a plethora of new applications and functions to distract me.

I thought I’d give myself a week to settle in here before broadcasting again. I knew it would be an emotional rollercoaster and, to be honest, the ride hasn’t yet reentered the station. But here I am, finding an independent young woman in the place of the child I used to be.

Exeter is a gorgeous city. With buildings dating back to the medieval era, there are few places that are better suited to studying History. The mixture of old and new, the university and the city, makes it an entirely different set up from home. A good different.

Don’t get me wrong; university is exhausting. As I type, I’ve just done the washing up, cleaned the kitchen and sorted out my desk. The flat has become closer in less than a week than I became with a lot of people over the course of seven years. I can sit in my room and not feel pressured to get drunk, go out or do anything else I don’t want to do voluntarily.

It’s an odd thing, to go to university six hours away from your family. You learn to be self sufficient much faster than if you lived thirty minutes away from your home. You become friends faster than you ever have.

I’m looking to this year with an open mind and a light heart – after all, I’m with some of the best people in the world in one of the best places in the world. Tomorrow I might go and pray in the Cathedral, or treat myself to a new book in Waterstones; the possibilities are endless at university, away from any authority but your own.

There is nothing for which I am more excited.

This is my ID card photo - the face that will be presented to everyone I meet over the next 4 years.

This is my ID card photo – the face that will be presented to everyone I meet over the next 4 years.

Drop us a line, provoke a conversation or disprove my entire post. Just talk!

