BOOK REVIEW: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

When Anna Oliphant is shipped unwillingly across the world to the School of America in Paris, she hardly expected to last the week. Imagine her surprise when she finds it enjoyable… and finds herself falling in love.

Étienne Sr Clair is perfect; his hair, his accent, his teeth… his girlfriend. but in the city of love, will all Anna’s wishes come true?

My Kobo and Anna, poolside

My Kobo and Anna, poolside

I picked up Anna and the French Kiss for my holiday because it was a book everyone raved about. Critically acclaimed and with a superb synopsis, it took all of my self-control to not buy it months ago and sink straight into it. I had a plan. I had a purpose for this baby.

My own Paris adventure back in March

My own Paris adventure back in March

AatFK started as part of NaNoWriMo, something I’ve always tried really hard to participate in, but never succeeded at. Written from the point of view of the 17 year old Anna, it follows her journey through SOAP, Paris, and to her long-awaited graduation.

I had worried that reading a book about people younger than me may have distanced me from the plot, but as the narrative caught me I felt myself thrown back into the me of two years ago. It was a phenomenal experience. I laughed, gasped and cried in all the right places, and have started the process of acquiring the sequel already.

Chilling with Anna in France

Chilling with Anna in France

I gave Perkins’ book a 4/5 because, ironically, there wasn’t enough of it. At 270 pages it felt a lot like the school year was glossed over. Their exams, how Anna slowly picked up French, her exploration of Paris. There wasn’t a constant smooth account, instead feeling more like a series of jumps. But other than that, it couldn’t be faulted.

The next book I’ll be reviewing is The Butterfly and The Violin by Kristy Cambron

Drop us a line, provoke a conversation or disprove my entire post. Just talk!

